Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Image was appropriated , but credited, what to do?

GC5
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Image was appropriated , but credited, what to do?

I'm not a professional photographer, but have had several shots published in local papers, magazines, etc. I live outside of DC and take lots of DC photos. I recently came across a relatively prominent local blog that featured one of my photos in its post. They didn't quite steal it, as they credited me for having taken the picture and linked my smugmug (i.e., this was a photo I had made public, but not licensed for commercial use). What would you do in this situation? For the record, I would have let them use it if they asked. I am just pissed they used it without asking...

Jul 31, 2012 at 08:34 PM
Volks1470
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Image was appropriated , but credited, what to do?

I've since changed my opinion...

Edited on Aug 25, 2012 at 05:07 AM · View previous versions

Jul 31, 2012 at 11:47 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Image was appropriated , but credited, what to do?

Most people not involved with commercial publishing are clueless with regard to intellectual property and think they have free license to use anything they see on-line simply by offering a credit line. You are lucky you got that.

I've had my tutorials, orginal illustrations and photos used without permission. Back in the 90s (before search engines) I ran an index of Filipino web sites and created an illustration of a purple Filipino Jeepney as a logo which I found other sites dozens of other sites. My tutorials get copy / pasted into people's blogs despite the copyright notice and terms of use on the bottom.