Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Copyright Laws with Newspapers and School

redclay92
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Copyright Laws with Newspapers and School

I'm currently a student at an University for a degree in photojournalism. One of the junior level classes is working for a local newspaper with a daily circulation of 39,000 as well as a pawalled website. My issue with the course is you are essentially paying $1200 for a paper to publish your work. From my understanding of the industry it's your portfolio that sells you and you should never give away your work for free. This idea seems like the worst possible outcome. I don't want to take the class if I have to pay. Is it legal for a University to force you into giving up your copyright on images and use free labor on a product that they profit off of to graduate?

My attitude would be slightly different if the paper was free but it is not.

Opinions or ideas would be much appreciated.

Feb 25, 2013 at 07:46 PM
mdude85
• • • •
p.1 #2 · Copyright Laws with Newspapers and School

Who says the University is forcing you to "give up" your copyright? I think you need to find out more information about the class.

Feb 25, 2013 at 08:27 PM
redclay92
• •
p.1 #3 · Copyright Laws with Newspapers and School

The class is required to graduate and they do not allow alternatives like internships.

Feb 25, 2013 at 08:31 PM
cwebster
• • • •
p.1 #4 · Copyright Laws with Newspapers and School

redclay92 wrote:
The class is required to graduate and they do not allow alternatives like internships.

Then you have the choice of taking the class or not graduating.

Life and especially university life, isn't fair, get over it. There are lots of situations ahead where you'll be given worse choices.

<Chas>