Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Image PPI to Printer DPI

blitzn
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Image PPI to Printer DPI

Hey all,

I've been reading about printing, specifically how I need to prepare my images to get the best quality print. (I own a 5Diii and Pixma Pro 9000 mkII - both new so I'm a newbie to printing). All the online stuff I find seems conflicting in its advice (240 ppi vs 300 vs 360 vs "native to the printer" etc - sRGB vs Abobe RGB)... I' looking for a good read on this so I can bring my own technical knowledge into my printer setup and image processing. So the question is:

What book/article would you recommend so I can get educated on printing and image prep for printing.

Thank you in advance for your suggestions!

Tom

Jan 25, 2013 at 07:23 PM
hugowolf
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Image PPI to Printer DPI

I can recomend 'From Camera to Print and Screen'
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/videos/tutorials/camera_to_print_and_screen.shtml

If you want it in book form:
http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Print-Preparing-Lightroom-Photoshop/dp/0321908457/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1359144549&sr=1-1&keywords=Digital+print
but the book isn't due out till spring.

Epson printers, 360 or 720 ppi is optimal. For HP or Canon, 300 or 600 ppi. The oft quoted 300 ppi is based on 150 lines per inch (lpi) for offset printing, although many C-type prints are made on Fuji Frontier machines with 300 ppi, or Noritsu machines at 300, 320, or 400 ppi.

The 240 ppi is often seen as the limiting resolution for a high quality print.

Brian A

Jan 25, 2013 at 08:17 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Image PPI to Printer DPI