Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · The wave, a picture story

ben egbert
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · The wave, a picture story

I have been staying at the Fireside Inn in Yachats Oregon since 1984 and have never missed a year. The wave featured below can be seen from our room, and I started trying to capture it from the start. First with a Nikon FE, and through all my cameras ending up with a 1DS-mk3.

Never had one worth beans until this one 2 years ago. I have attempted to duplicate this shot the last two years with no success. It took a combination of high tide, wind to provide the background surf, cloud shapes, light, and the splash shape that blends with the clouds to get this.

This image is sort of flat as shot, see the sooc. But in the end, it is one of my 3-4 best shots in 30 years or so. It was a fluke and could not be repeated. Rusty should be happy with the transformation I was willing to apply in post processing. I think it is honest, but also pretty different than the raw. Still this is a single image and 90% done in ACR.

The point of this story is that luck plays a large part in getting an image. Not that this is great, but that it represents one of my best during 30 years worth of work. And I have taken a lot of images. This scene lasted for all of a few microseconds and then was gone, and is pretty unique.