New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2008 · 5minutephoto for onsite viewing thoughts

Joe Winn
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5minutephoto for onsite viewing thoughts

I purchased 5minutephoto about a month ago for onsite viewing/ordering and wanted to offer my thoughts since I've seen and participated in a thread or two here about onsite viewing software.

Let's start off by saying I am a noob at the onsite viewing thing. I researched some things through the fine people here on FM and decided to go with 5minutephoto for my needs. Up until very recently we (my wife, her brother and myself) were one of those "check out our pictures online in a couple of days" businesses. We took pictures, handed out cards and hoped for the best.

Well, we decided to make a serious go of it and bought a 16ft enclosed trailer and put 7 viewing stations in it. Our needs were simple...no printing onsite, just viewing. Our "server" is basically a souped up PC that was previously my home PC running XP Pro. The viewing stations are low powered PCs with XP Home.

After getting everything working correctly at home we decided to do a semi dry run at a Martial Arts tournament. I say dry run because historically the martial arts people have bought the least from us.

First thing after we get a few hundred pics loaded I am getting all sorts of errors from the viewing stations about how they have lost connection to the server or can't find the file on the server etc etc. Also I getting errors on the loader software on the server. Argh...so I call 5minutephoto's 1-800 number, on a Saturday no less, and leave a message. I get a call back very shortly (wtf? it's saturday and they are closed)...he runs me through some Q+A and I have the default permissions set wrong on the server. Dang...Ok I fix that with some help from him on the phone.