New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2007 · Airport Security and the DSLR

Troy Albert

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Airport Security and the DSLR

I travel for a living (one of the reasons I've opted to get in to Photography..always a new opportunity). I've got concerns with heightened airport security these days and how much trouble I might expect to have trying to go through airport security with my DSLR and equipment.

I noticed the security sign and it didn't specically say anything about having to take a DSLR out of my bag and place it in a bin. All I saw were "recording devices that have cassette tapes".

Can anyone shed any light on their experiences? I'm seriously trying to avoid having to take it out of my bag. I already travel with 2 laptops and juggling my DSLR in yet another bin would be a nightmare, not to mention I don't feel "warm and fuzzy" about all the potential bumping it may experience on that belt come Monday morning at 8am.

Last of all, how about Tri Pods? Security going to bark at this as well? I can see this being a potential security threat....again anyone care to share? I don't check my bags (ever) so this is a sensitive point for me.

Thanks

Dec 10, 2007 at 05:59 PM
pranic
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Airport Security and the DSLR

Hi Troy,

I have been through many airports in the USA throughout the last year, and I can assure you that you do not have to take your SLR out of your bag. If you have lots of gear, you'll likely have a bag check performed, which is usually painless and relatively quick -- so they can test for trace amounts of explosives, etc.

As for tripods -- I have always packed my tripods in checked baggage, and am just not sure their policy on them. In my opinion, tripods could be a very good weapon to inflict blunt force trauma!

Dec 10, 2007 at 06:03 PM
Troy Albert