New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2015 · D750 - Error that persists after battery removal + power off

form
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D750 - Error that persists after battery removal + power off

I had an issue at the end of a wedding on Friday, the first big wedding I've shot since I got my D750 back from Nikon for the "fix."

What it did: After an ordinary shutter press to take a photo, the camera unexpectedly went into a hard error. I turned it off several times without any change. I removed the lens, no change. I removed the battery and replaced it, no change. There was at least 20-30% battery life left. Because the wedding reception was still active, I didn't have more time to try more troubleshooting, so I swapped to another of my 5d2s (which I've been using for 5 years without incident) to finish the night with.

What it sounded like when it had the error: An incomplete mirror movement sound, like it got stuck at some point during the lift/drop process. The normal sound was incomplete.

What I could do when the error occurred: Menus still worked, preview still worked, I just couldn't get the error to go away by the normal means and the shutter button would not let me actuate. However...

I'm driving home and I check my camera at a stop light, annoyed with it, and the error is still popping up. So I just push the shutter button again...and it finishes the clack sound that was missing earlier and the camera seems to work normally again. I clicked the shutter a few more times, seems to be working again.