Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Gymnastics.....My First Post

chapmuzic

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Gymnastics.....My First Post

Both my young daughters are aspiring gymnast. Through them I have learned to appreciate the skill and beauty of this sport. Now I am learning to capture that skill and beauty with my camera. C & C welcomed (gulp).

Feb 26, 2013 at 07:33 AM
rddayton
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Gymnastics.....My First Post

I am no expert when it comes to gymnastics -- but a couple of universal things from a sports shooting perspective.

#1 Watch your crooked horizons. 1, 3 & 5 look like they could be straightened.

#2 Do everything you can to avoid chopping limbs like what happened to her left hand in number 2.

Let me commend you for taking the leap and posting in the sports corner. All of us have had a "first post." One thing I will promise is that by posting here and actively listening to what the pros tell you will make you images SOOOOOOOO much better -- and in quick order. Reach out to guys like Russ Isabella and ask them for help. Look at the images they post. Try to do the same thing when it comes to shooting angles. Look at the lenses and focal lengths they choose. Mimic that if you can.

Again welcome.

Rick

Feb 26, 2013 at 11:49 AM
owyhee
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Gymnastics.....My First Post

#4 and 5 are the best to my eye. I think you white balance is off a bit and shows in the green hue to the skin tones. This is especially evident in #4 with the coaches green face. The lighting in gyms can be a nightmare to get correct color balance in especially if they use mixed lighting types.

Thank you for sharing you images and a welcome to you.

Aaron

Feb 26, 2013 at 01:59 PM
chapmuzic

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Gymnastics.....My First Post