Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              9       10       end

Archive 2013 · Being asked to shoot a wedding when you aren't a wedding photographer

Ballistics
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Being asked to shoot a wedding when you aren't a wedding photographer

I'm not a wedding photographer. I'm not even a professional photographer.
I'm a hobbyist/student with a website and not even very good to begin with.

Here's the story. A sister of my wife's boss is getting married and she found out (I
would assume she was told by her sister) that I am a photo student. My wife asked me about a
week ago if I would shoot her this woman's wedding. Before really giving it thought my knee jerk
reaction was "No, I'm not a wedding photographer" and that was that. Or so I thought.

Fast forward to today, I call my wife at work and her boss picks up the phone. Once she finds out that it's me,
she immediately questions my decision of turning down the job (in a respectful way, she was pleasant about it. )
She goes on to tell me how great her sister and herself think my photos are, and they would love to have me do it.
I tried to explain to her that the difference between the photography that I do (studio, little kid stuff etc) is that it's usually in a controlled environment and that there are second chances where there isn't in wedding photography(as far as I know). I also explained to her that I've never shot a wedding before, and the closest thing to it was a child's birthday party. She asked me to reconsider. She also tried to soft sell the wedding. She explained it was a second marriage and a small reception. I told her I would give it a second thought.

There's a lot of homework ahead of me if I accept, so I guess I want to do my research before I give her an answer.

I would imagine the given things I must do is: