Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Feedback about associates...

morby
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Feedback about associates...

I know that some of you out there are associates and some have associates. I've been doing a lot of research about the benefits and drawbacks of having an associate, and wanted to get some input. In January I received about 30 inquiries that I had to turn down because I was already booked for those dates. It's slowed down in February, but I'm still getting a couple a week that I can't take. So, obviously my thought is, "do I bring in an associate?" I've been shooting for over ten years, but my business has only really taken off in the past 3 years. Because things are still fairly new for me I wonder if I should continue to develop a solid brand prior to looking into bringing on someone else. Thoughts?

Feb 17, 2013 at 12:46 AM
Tony Hoffer
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Feedback about associates...

I spent a good 2 or 3 years mulling that decision before taking on an associate... The problem with it is that as soon as you bring someone on, you need to make the decision between if you want to become a volume studio or a boutique studio. Having someone else shoot under your name has big repercussions for your brand and for responsibilities.

In short, I found that it's a decent amount of work and risk to have an associate photographer. So I simply wasn't going to do it unless I found someone who was perfect and who was happy establish a working relationship long term. Our business could still handle a few more people, but I just haven't found the right people and I'm not willing to compromise for somewhat small increase in both income and workload.

Feb 17, 2013 at 03:59 PM
morby
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Feedback about associates...

Tony Hoffer wrote: