Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · 5DM3 initial set up

newtophoto

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · 5DM3 initial set up

Hello all, I just received my 5DM3, and was wondering if there was a knowledge base of some sort that someone can refer to me in setting this camera up or what basic settings they liked to use for C1 C2 etc. And I know this is very general question as I didn't list what I liked to shoot, but I'm just getting into photography so nothing specific yet, so anything good for general shooting around the house for now. Thank you,

Feb 12, 2013 at 06:37 PM
Matt Howell

p.1 #2 · 5DM3 initial set up

This is what I do and it might give you an idea how to make use of the C 1-3 settings.

C1. portrait & general, Av mode, f/2, silent shutter, oneshot
C2. sports & action, Tv mode, 1/500, high speed, AI servo, Case 1
C3. manual & video, M mode, 1/50th, f/2.8, silent shutter, oneshot, neutral 0, -4, -2, 0, 1080 24p

Feb 12, 2013 at 06:55 PM
ifxbonz
• • •
p.1 #3 · 5DM3 initial set up

I use one for landscape settings and one for sports settings. It gives you a way to quickly change some settings based on the type of shooting you are doing without giong into all of the menus to change things up for a particular scenario. .
Andy

Feb 12, 2013 at 06:56 PM
ben egbert
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · 5DM3 initial set up

I use the following:

C1 landscape, oneshot, ISO100, f8.

C2. action, AIservo, burst mode ISO800 f4.

C3 star scapes. oneshot, ISO1600, manual mode at 30 seconds f2.8

I also set the mymenu as follows for quick access.

Format cards.
Long exposure NR
exposure bracket
Mirror lock up.

It is worth noting that M and AV will remember the last settings so they have some value for quick settings.