FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Apache Elk

LandPirate
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Apache Elk

I'm completely new to digital photography so everyday is new learning experience. Just recently bought my first DSLR, a Canon T4i with EF-S 18-55 IS II and a 55-250 IS II. I enjoy the challenge of learning something new and this is no exception. I'm nowhere near as good as you folks but hope to get there sooner than later.

Thanks for looking and any feedback, good, bad or otherwise is appreciated.

Feb 10, 2013 at 03:37 PM
acjd
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Apache Elk

Welcome Landpirate, your off to a good start. Everyone has to start somewhere.

You are looking for feedback so here is some.

First, don't place your subjects dead center in the frame unless you are trying to do a portrait. The last photo is more interesting because the eye is drawn to the top right corner and nothing is centered. Read about the Rule of Thirds.

Second, when reviewing your photos, look critically at the focus. For example, in the first one, I'm not seeing anything sharp. I don't know if its the shutter speed or what.

In any case, keep shooting. Your doing fine

Feb 10, 2013 at 07:13 PM
LandPirate
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Apache Elk

I've taken a class since these photos were taken. I learned how the auto-focus works on my camera. Consequently I've learned how to get sharper pics at distance. These particular elk were in shadow at day break and I had the camera set to Aperture Priority, thus a slower shutter speed.

Thanks for the feedback. Exactly what I'm wanting to hear.

Feb 10, 2013 at 07:40 PM
DonGut
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Apache Elk

Keep shooting, until your finger gets a callus or bleeds. #3 has nice light! Stick around the forum and you'll learn quickly. Don

Feb 10, 2013 at 08:25 PM
onesickpuppy
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Apache Elk