Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Who uses Focal and do you like it?

ben egbert
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Who uses Focal and do you like it?

Speaking of the micro adjust software:

http://www.reikan.co.uk/focalweb/index.php/versions/focal-pro/

I have been doing MA since 2008 and have figured out some reliable methods. I use it on my 1ds-mk3 and 50D. I am getting a 5DmkIII and will need to do it again. I am intrigued by many of the hassles that Focal eliminates, like target alignment and also the automated way it aquires MA.

I find that after I do indoor adjustments at close range, I do them over outdoors at longer range and almost always need to change it to avoid front focus. Sharp infinity is a priority for me in landscape work.

But FoCal also allows you to use your own images so this would not be an issue. Being a gear head, I think I would like the pro version with all the reports.

Looking for first hand experience.

Feb 03, 2013 at 07:27 PM
dgdg
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Who uses Focal and do you like it?

I used the pro version mainly because I needed to boost my iso for 400 and 560mm focal lengths to obtain adequate shutter speeds. I use the recommended target distances, which meant my telephotos were calibrated outdoors. I never bothered to do detailed testing at infinity afterwards as my focus always looked very good at all my distances. Admittedly, I used MA mainly for bif where dof is shallow, but distance clearly not infinity. I would imagine if I needed perfect infinity focus, it would come into play for astro photos, and for that I use live view.

here are some other thoughts.