FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Website Q: Mobile device compatibility

Ghost
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Website Q: Mobile device compatibility

Hi, an unscheduled event has forced me to rebuild my website. I like to know some of your thoughts on mobile device friendly when came time for you to build your site.
Do you have a different m.website.com version?
If yours is a one size fits all, how far would you go to make it look good on say a 4" iphone 5?

Jan 21, 2013 at 09:28 PM
ryanp
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Website Q: Mobile device compatibility

I work as a software developer and have worked on web sites and I am currently working on mobile web sites/apps. My recommendation is to look at "responsive web design". This a design methodology using primarily CSS stylesheets that will allow the site to respond to different browsers, whether it is a mobile phone, tablet or desktop. With more tablets coming out and phones coming in different sizes, the responsive web design allows you to adapt your site easier as technology changes. Having a separate m.website.com means you have to maintain multiple sites.

Here is a link to a good web site about responsive design: http://responsivedesign.ca/

There are different templates available for responsive design.

Thanks!
Ryan

Jan 21, 2013 at 09:43 PM
D. Diggler
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Website Q: Mobile device compatibility

ryanp wrote:
Having a separate m.website.com means you have to maintain multiple sites.

So with this responsive website design you are saying we must maintain a separate website for each device? Not sure what you mean by "m.website.com".

Jan 21, 2013 at 11:13 PM
whtrbt7
• •
[X]
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Website Q: Mobile device compatibility