Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · READ ME --- They are watching

Rick Denham
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · READ ME --- They are watching

SO, you don't think these forums aren't lurked, you don't think there are members on here that can get you work, you don't think what you say or do on here gets noticed......well then quite frankly you don't think.

It's no secret, I don't sugar coat anything and am pretty verbal when I disagree with something that will affect our industry. It's also no secret that I like to shoot sports and share what I know with anyone who asks. So I'll let you in on one other secret, they are watching, and in some cases they are even members.

I have been shooting hockey now for 7 years, on and off, for different mags and teams, but the one constant source I have and will always do work for is the Hockey Hall of Fame. My contacts there give me great gigs, and hopefully in the future even more. When I shoot, I always upload my images to the FM sports board, I love the community here.....the good and even occasionally the bad. The last game I posted that I shot for the HHOF turned out to be what I am hoping to be a great new road to travel with hockey.

A day after posting up the images I received an PM from one of the members of the forum, commenting on my work. After reading through the PM and getting to the bottom I was stunned when it said Photographer and Graphic Designer - NHLPA. They wanted to talk, get me on bored and get me shooting for them. What more could I ask for, a small town kid who played junior hockey, now shooting for the HHOF and NHLPA (sounds like a good movie eh!). SO I messaged back, then called and spoke on the phone for almost 30 minutes (I'm tagging that one to the first invoice J). They want me to come to Toronto and sit down, talk and shoot the proverbial sh!t.