Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Does anybody have a 70-200 VR1 that rattles?

theater_dad

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Does anybody have a 70-200 VR1 that rattles?

I'm just a hobbyist looking for some help. I have a 70-200 VR1 that I purchased on FM about 18-24 mos ago. It has one purpose in life and that is to shoot my daughters' musicals (and the occasional choir concert). After reviewing my most recent outing, I've come across a noise that I don't think was there before...but I can't be sure so I wanted to post here and see if anyone else recognizes the description.

The noise is a sort of muffled one. I can produce the noise with just the lens (i.e. no camera attached). If I hold the lens level and then rotate vertically 90 degrees (doesn't seem to matter whether it ends up pointing at the ceiling or the ground....just needs to be rotated) ..a little like a rattle or maybe something a little loose in the lens. Nothing violent, just a smooth rotation from horizontal to vertical. As the rotation gets close to vertical, I can hear a small rattle or shake from inside the lens. It's about as loud as the VR motors when they power up if the lens is attached to a camera. Then when I rotate it back to horizontal, the noise happens again.