Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Optimum JPEG settings for D90

xelas

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Optimum JPEG settings for D90

Hi!

After admiring this forum for couple of months here is my first post.

I am using D90 with AF-S16-85 3,5-5,6G VR and AF-S 70-300 4,5-5,6G VR.Most of my photos are done while traveling, so landscape, nature and people are main targets. I am using JPEG since I have no knowledge about PP, and also because of a huge amount of photos taken each travel.

What would be the most optimal in-camera settings for JPEG for:

1. landscapes (lot of green colors where I mostly travel)
2. people (skin tones).

Thank you for any advice given. If switching to RAW is unavoidable then also point me to PP software that is most user friendly (could use or iMac or PC).

Thanks a lot to everyone. BTW, fantastic photos here!!!

Alex

Jan 11, 2013 at 06:53 PM
Graystar

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Optimum JPEG settings for D90

I really like my D90 and the 70-300VR. I wish I had the 16-85...that's a perfect kit for general photography. Add a 50 or 85 f/1.8 and you're done!

The D90 is old so its image processor isn't as advanced as the latest cameras. Still, it can do a nice job. By far and away the best thing you can do for your color is to learn how to set a custom white balance, and Nikon makes it very easy. First, get yourself a good quality WB reference such as the Digital Gray Card by Robin Myers Imaging. It's 15 dollars US, and he mails anywhere. Second, learn the process of setting WB...
1. set the WB to "Pre" and release the WB button.
2. press and hold the WB button for 2 secs, until "Pre" starts flashing.