Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · question on FX AF point accuracy

Kerry Pierce
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · question on FX AF point accuracy

I picked up a d800 refurb last week and wanted to check the body for the various issues that folks have been complaining about. I've never tried testing all of the AF points before, comparing all of them against the center AF point, so I don't know what is "normal".

While checking the AF outer points with the 24-70 at 24mm f/2.8, I found a slight difference in sharpness between the center AF point and both the extreme outer left and right points, with the center point being the sharpest. I then put the 24-70 on both the d700 and d3s and performed the same tests, obtaining pretty much the same results.

My test is simple. I have several focus targets taped to a large piece of cardboard. Starting from OOF, I'd select each focus point and focus on the target, moving the camera to put the AF point on one of the focus targets, where the contrast was sufficient that the AF would snap to focus quickly and surely.

So, I'd like to hear from the FX experts. Do you obtain identical results from all AF points in a test like this? If not, would you consider it normal to have the center AF point produce the best results while the outer points slightly softer when viewed at 100%?

thanks
Kerry

Jan 10, 2013 at 04:42 PM
BenV
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · question on FX AF point accuracy

From my experience, center is always the most accurate and sharpest. Typically when you move to the outside points, you're dealing with distortion and other lens issues. Even if its just slight issues, when your pixel peeping, you can usually tell. Don't let it bug you.