Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Lake Sunrise critique

T-D-S

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Lake Sunrise critique

I took a series of photos this morning and this was my fave of the bunch. I'm still learning to process sunrise photos and develop my technique. I'm not a big fan of the over-baked unrealistically red and orange sunrise and sunset photos. This was probably slightly more saturated than what I actually saw however. So, I guess I'm just looking to see what you guys would suggest. Is this over- or under-done on the processing? How about exposure and composition? Any advice is welcome and reworks are fine.

Jan 09, 2013 at 02:18 AM
Top Quark

p.1 #2 · Lake Sunrise critique

Nice pic. The only thing I would change is to level the horizon.

Jan 09, 2013 at 02:28 AM
Top Quark

p.1 #3 · Lake Sunrise critique

Leveled it and a little color adjustment.

[/url]

Jan 09, 2013 at 02:38 AM
T-D-S

p.1 #4 · Lake Sunrise critique

Ack, I did miss the horizon! Thanks for catching that!

Jan 09, 2013 at 02:41 AM
RustyBug
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #5 · Lake Sunrise critique

Might be a bit too much for your taste (although I did restrain myself quite a bit ), but ...

I tweaked on the gamma darker for the water, lighter for the sky to drive some difference between the sky and the water. Also tweaked on the foreground dock with a little lightening/sat, and killed off some of the blue sat in the far dock.

You've nicely captured the various elements at the sky, water, and two docks. I'd probably go a bit more at driving them toward/away from each other depending on how you want to draw your viewer's attention ... be that to the sky, reflection or docks.

As always, S&P to taste.

Jan 09, 2013 at 05:19 AM
AuntiPode
• • • • •
p.1 #6 · Lake Sunrise critique