New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · B+W NDX filter???

Shahab

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · B+W NDX filter???

Hello everyone,

Absolute, complete, champion noob here. I bought the Canon 16-35mm f2.8 II lens last week and while I was at it, asked the guy to give me a circular polarizer so that when I take a picture once a year of the sky, I can capture the clouds and all.

What he gave me is a B+W filter which has a rotating ring and NDX (W) written on it. What it does is that it reduces light in the entire frame. Is that what a circular polarizer is supposed to do or is it an ND filter that I have gotten by mistake? The packaging has Digital MRC nano XS-Pro written on it too :s

Attaching a picture and looking forward to guidance.

Many thanks!

Dec 31, 2012 at 05:07 AM
sjms
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · B+W NDX filter???

your image did not show up

this is a B+W XS-Pro Circular Polarizer multicoated

XS-Pro- the series
C-POL- circular polarizer
MRC nano- multicoated nano type
in this case KSM- Käsemann-Type filter edge sealed against moisture infiltration of the foil layer

Dec 31, 2012 at 10:18 AM
Shahab

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · B+W NDX filter???

Hey SJMS,

Thank you for the reply. I tried attaching a picture but the site isn't letting me do that :s

Dec 31, 2012 at 10:35 AM
3iron
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · B+W NDX filter???

By the way, that is a very good filter as is you lens.
Best wishes.

Dec 31, 2012 at 10:41 AM
Shahab

p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · B+W NDX filter???

Thank you!

How do I attach a picture here?

Dec 31, 2012 at 10:53 AM
runamuck
• • • • • •
[X]
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · B+W NDX filter???

1) Either post the photo on smugmug, photobucket, etc. and link to it. Free.

2) Enable image upload and send the photo direct from your computer. Cost: 25 bucks annually. This also enables posting on the Buy & Sell boards.

Welcome to Fred Miranda.