Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Does anyone use the small flash modifiers

ether1
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Does anyone use the small flash modifiers

Well...I guess people do use them...just looking for some ideal situations where they are good.
I picked up a few of those small (under 10inch) softboxes that mount direclty onto speedlite, thinking that for occasional family shots would be easier than getting my umbrella or large softbox out.
Unless I am doing just the face or a close up they seem no good.
they create sharp shadows and don't seem to help at all if I want to take full pic of person.

Since I am new to lighting techniques and photography in general I guess I was just surprised....thinking they would spread the light more evenly?

Dec 30, 2012 at 03:39 AM
Robert Snow
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Does anyone use the small flash modifiers

There are literally hundreds of modifiers out there. That said, my personal favorite have always been the Demb products. Do a search either in google or b & h site and take a look.

bob snow

Dec 30, 2012 at 03:36 PM
Waki
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Does anyone use the small flash modifiers

I use the Lumiquest two largest soft boxes, and a 24x24 Lastolite hot shoe ezybox. I don't have a problem as they fit my expectations.
Get them close if you want soft, and I tend to use the Lumiquests in more ambient conditions as either fill or key depending on the light and what i want. I carry one with me almost always.

Edit: I also use the flash diffuser with them. I think it makes a difference.

Dec 30, 2012 at 08:01 PM
Gregg Heckler
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Does anyone use the small flash modifiers