Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Getting started with lighting for portrait and weddings

moresnowdays

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Getting started with lighting for portrait and weddings

I've been a hobbyist photographer for along time, and decided I want to make a go at professional work. Hoping one day to make a career transition over to portrait and wedding photography. I shot a couple weddings recently, and really enjoyed it.

I want to spend the next year developing a portfolio, and learning lighting outside my usual. I've tried to stick with natural light whenever possible, and used a flash on a bracket bouncing them when indoors for weddings.

What I would like to do is get a basic, economical, setup to learn more about portrait/studio lighting. Hopefully a kit that would be portable enough to use in different locations and have some practical use for weddings. Trouble is when it comes to lighting equipment I don't really know where to start.

I don't want to buy junk, but I don't want to break the bank getting started either. I don't want to buy stuff that I don't really end up using.

I had been using Nikon cameras, but recently decided to switch to Canon. I intend to eventually get a 5d mkII or III, but currently just bought a pair 5Dc to test the waters a bit. When I pick up one of the newer models, the 5Dc will become backup until another upgrade later on (I'll sell the 2nd 5Dc later as well).

Any suggestions appreciated!

Dec 15, 2012 at 03:39 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Getting started with lighting for portrait and weddings

moresnowdays wrote: