Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Do I need a light meter?

Wobble
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Do I need a light meter?

I have 2 600ex-rt speed lights and an SR-E3-RT Transmitter that will be under the tree for Christmas. I am a Realtor and shoot mainly home pictures along with portraits, family Candids, and Scout events. Do I buy a meter now or wait until one is released that can do the modeling flash triggering or not get one at all? Would I even benefit from the meter?

Dec 12, 2012 at 11:52 PM
alohadave
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Do I need a light meter?

Wobble wrote:
r wait until one is released that can do the modeling flash triggering or not get one at all?

What is modeling flash triggering?

Would I even benefit from the meter?

Yes, if you learn how to use it, it will save time when you are setting up. It's not strictly necessary, but it is useful.

Dec 13, 2012 at 12:37 AM
Wobble
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Do I need a light meter?

I guess I mean firing the flashes to see the shadows.

Dec 13, 2012 at 12:47 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Do I need a light meter?

Wobble wrote:
...Do I buy a meter now or wait until one is released that can do the modeling flash triggering or not get one at all? Would I even benefit from the meter?

I use the modeling light function of my Speedlites only rarely; so rarely that I often forget it's an available function. I actually scared myself the other day when I bumped the DoF-preview button, which triggers the modeling function on my 20D, and the flash started machine-gunning on me.