Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Worth filing an insurance claim?

kev8d

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Worth filing an insurance claim?

Our Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS mkI lens recently fell and shattered during a wedding shoot.

It's insured under our policy, and it looks we may be able to have the insurance company replace it after we pay our $500 deductible, but I have no experience with insurance claims.

Should I expect to see a significant increase on my payments after I file a claim? The lens is worth $1400 (so $900 after deductible)

Also, the cause of the fall was due to the wind knocking over a tripod (it was a rooftop shoot at the top of a tall building). My insurance company is not being forthcoming with whether this cause is covered.

---
Also, Canadians: Do you have any insurance company recommendations?

Thanks!

Dec 02, 2012 at 11:49 AM
joelconner
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Worth filing an insurance claim?

I would think it would be worth it... Is your deductible a per-claim deducible or an annual one?

Dec 02, 2012 at 01:09 PM
Nikon_14
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Worth filing an insurance claim?

Would love to hear the outcome of this...

If your premiums rise by, say "only" $50/month, then it'll be 1.5 years til you "win" by filing a claim.

I hope the rest of the wedding went well.

Dec 02, 2012 at 01:20 PM
D. Diggler
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Worth filing an insurance claim?

My damn insurance deductible just went up to 750.

Dec 02, 2012 at 01:32 PM
amonline
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Worth filing an insurance claim?

Do you not have replacement value insured on the lens? If so, I'd think it was highly worth replacement consideration.

Dec 02, 2012 at 04:55 PM
MBMK
• • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Worth filing an insurance claim?