Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Compression - Video Tutorials

Mark Metternich
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Compression - Video Tutorials

I have finished my first of a long list of upcoming Photoshop Video Tutorials.

I am using Camtasia Studio. For about a 1 1/2 hour video I get about a 9-10 gig file. I have used two options for compression and they yield a file about 250 Megs. These videos are available for download online (when people pay me I send them a link).

Since I am not an expert in video software, I am wondering what would be a good or the best way to render these?

I have two main options: recording dimensions (1920x1152) and HD (1280x720). When I choose the recording dimensions the software says: "For best results we recommend using project dimensions of 1280x1024 or smaller."

So far, I have been doing MP4. But there is also AVI and M4v options among others.

I guess I am wanting to be confident that the compression makes the file size manageable for people who receive them (and so far it is) that the format is good for typical video viewing software, and I also don't want to sacrifice quality too much. I doubt many people would know what to do with a 10+ gig AVI file.

Any general suggestions or recommendations?

Thank you in advance!

Nov 29, 2012 at 06:19 PM
JimmyStephans
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Compression - Video Tutorials

Mark, I would go with the 1280x720P size in MP4.

I run a popular pretty girl website and that size works best for subscribers of my site(s).

Highly unlikely that a serious photographer would still have a monitor set at 1280x1024. No need to be smaller than that.... and even 1280x720 would be fine for them.