New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Photoshop RAW exposure processing

saywhuut
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Photoshop RAW exposure processing

What methodology are you all using for exposure who shoot RAW? I am finding myself using -1/3 or even -2/3 during bright conditions with my 5D as it seems to overexposure rather easily. I'm new to full frame so I am still getting used to the 5D. Is the theory true that if one needs to bump up an underwxposed image (no more than 1 stop) in RAW, that this method has potential to cause more noise in the image while processing a RAW image?

Nov 27, 2012 at 02:20 PM
howardm4
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Photoshop RAW exposure processing

the exposure info is taken from the post-processed jpg and raw gives you something like +1 stop of headroom. Therefore, you'd be better off slightly overexposing vs. your -1/3|2/3 method.

Nov 27, 2012 at 02:27 PM
Alan321
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Photoshop RAW exposure processing

Noise is fairly evenly distributed but it will be more significant relative to the small amount of data in the dark areas of a scene, whether they be dark subjects, brighter subjects in shadow, or just underexposed more than necessary. To counter the effect of such noise you can apply noise reduction in post processing but to do the best job you should increase the exposure as much as you can without losing required highlight details due to overexposure, and then to restore balance in post processing you would reduce exposure by an appropriate amount. This process is called ETTR (expose to the right) but the process to the left part is usually not mentioned.

ETTR has some inherent difficulties. In no particular order they include...
1. How do you know how far to the right to go ? Without experience you rely on a histogram that will easily lead you astray.