Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Normal prime for OM-D?

Partyender

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Normal prime for OM-D?

Hello! I have been shooting with my OM-D and 12-50 combo for some time and time has come to buy my first m43 prime. Problem is that I'm not sure what to choose. I've been eyeing PL 25/1.4, 20/1.7 and Olympus 17/1.8. I'm unsure if one of these lenses is clear winner or not as I'm new to m43 and haven't owned OM-D for a long time. All I know is that I want to own fast prime alongside with the 12-50mm. Is there something to look out with these lenses? I've heard that 20mm has some problems with shooting video and autofocus. Is this true?

Nov 27, 2012 at 12:54 PM
cputeq
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Normal prime for OM-D?

20mm autofocus is slower than the 25mm, and some have a banding problem with the OM-D and high ISO shots.

25mm is "large" for a m43 lens but still fairly small (think old 50mm lens, about that large without a hood). It will also "rattlesnake" sometimes, making quick aperture changes in response to light. Not a big deal for most people.

17/1.8 not many people have used, so no real concensus on this lens yet.

I have the 25mm, excellent lens with great rendering. I plan to probably also get the 20mm just because it's a pancake, but I will be shooting it with the GX-1.

Nov 27, 2012 at 01:02 PM
FlyPenFly
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Normal prime for OM-D?

The PL25mm is reason enough to even own the platform.

The P20 is my least favorite lens on the platform. I've still shot hundreds of photos on it though.

The O12mm is also an interesting lens.

Nov 27, 2012 at 02:36 PM
CalW
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Normal prime for OM-D?