Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Basic newbie software recommendation

tmpollard
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Basic newbie software recommendation

Guys i'm new to all this software stuff, i've just taken my photos in jpeg format and view them on my computer in whateve the default picture program is in the computer. As a person who wants to get started sprucing up his photos what software do you recommend to work with the jpeg files.

As I get better then maybe I can learn to work with RAW files (whatever that really means). for right now just something to sharpen them up and make them look good EASILY so I can show them off on my IPAD. Thanks

Nov 26, 2012 at 05:02 AM
RDParker

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Basic newbie software recommendation

Picasa is fun-

http://picasa.google.com/

also, the price is right.

Nov 26, 2012 at 05:30 AM
BauerPower
• • •
p.1 #3 · Basic newbie software recommendation

Photoshop Elements is a very useful program. I ended up with a free copy when I bought a Canon scanner. It won't do all the things that the full PS will do but it will do all the basic things. Under 100 bucks all the way down to free.

Nov 26, 2012 at 05:39 AM
cherubino
• •
p.1 #4 · Basic newbie software recommendation

I second Photoshop Elements recommendation. You can do pretty much all you need to do with Elements. Later when you decide to work with RAW, Elements will handle that also. Have fun!
Bob

Nov 26, 2012 at 12:13 PM
sbeme
• • • • • •
p.1 #5 · Basic newbie software recommendation

Photoshop Elements or Lightroom. I prefer LR.

Nov 26, 2012 at 01:05 PM
Dwight3

p.1 #6 · Basic newbie software recommendation