Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · First Try At Studio Lighting

Ken_K
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · First Try At Studio Lighting

In case you couldn't tell, I'm an absolute newbie at lighting.
These images are lit with a pair of DIY Kino FLo lights ( 4 tubes total)
Each tube has the following specs:
F-32T8TL950P
Wattage: 32 Watt
Bulb Type: F32T8
Color Temperature: 5000 Kelvin
Length: 4 ft.
Lumens (Mean): 1860
CRI: 98
I'm shooting with a Canon 5dII and a 70-200 2.8
These images were shot aperture priority f5.6 ISO 160 1/5 sec 160mm
The camera was 7 ft from the subject and each light was 45 degrees camera right & left 7 feet from the subject.
The first image is SOOC and the second had minor tweaks in LR with exposure, shadow & highlight tweeks.
The SOOC image looks better as posted here than it does on my monitor.

My concern are that the image is "overlit" and isn't very sharp.
I guess I could move the lamps back farther but I'm running out of room in the small space I have to work with.
Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Edited on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:42 PM · View previous versions

Nov 14, 2012 at 09:19 PM
Peter Figen
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · First Try At Studio Lighting