Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Nex7 Autofocus System?

steve g
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Nex7 Autofocus System?

I'm seriously considering buying this camera.

I see though that the autofocus is "Contrast Detection" whilst the Nex6 and Nex5 have A hybrid system with both "phase and contrast detection", with the phase detection having a lot more AF points.

I'm no expert in this, so my questions are

1. Does this mean the Nex7 has an inferior AF system?
2 Does it then mean an upgrade to the Nex 7 may be coming soon, and should I hold off for a while. (I've plenty of other cameras to play with !)

Thanks for your thoughts.

Nov 09, 2012 at 02:14 AM
LightShow
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Nex7 Autofocus System?

I think a replacement for the 7 will come next year, along with a FF NEX-9(most likely name), as far as AF goes, I don't think any of the mirrorless are all that great yet, they are getting better with every generation, their biggest weakness is still tracking a moving subject, which is typically what I'd use AF for.

Nov 09, 2012 at 07:26 AM
thrice
• • • •
p.1 #3 · Nex7 Autofocus System?

1. Yes
2. About 6 months away.

Nov 09, 2012 at 07:38 AM
Vern Dewit
• • • •
p.1 #4 · Nex7 Autofocus System?

LightShow wrote:
I don't think any of the mirrorless are all that great yet, they are getting better with every generation, their biggest weakness is still tracking a moving subject, which is typically what I'd use AF for.

+100. Being a mirrorless user myself for years now, they are getting better which NEX and OM-D being the best right now. Compared to my X-E1 the NEX-7 is blazing fast but it's still not even close to a DSLR. Of course AF isn't important to me (I'd use a Leica if I could afford to!) so I don't care but YMMV.