New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Anyone using Pinterest?

Mr Joe
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Anyone using Pinterest?

I'm wondering if any photographers are using Pinterest to drive traffic to their website and to market their work. Seems like it may be great for wedding photographers, but as a fine art photographer I'm wondering if it would be useful.

I've put my toe in the shallow end by putting an image up for a work contest. Feel free to like or repin the photo so I can see your Pinterest page: http://pinterest.com/pin/363525001141342215/

Just like any other social network, Pinterest would require a significant time investment in order to gain a following. If I had something more mainstream to sell, maybe it would be worth it.

I'm interested to hear your thoughts.

Sep 20, 2012 at 12:26 PM
Caleb Williams
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Anyone using Pinterest?

Given the blatant copyright infringement inherent in Pinterest, any photographer wishing to use Pinterest should balance that (even if you personally don't infringe on anyone's copyright) with any possible to your benefit for your business.

That's more of an ethical issue, whether you want to support something that can help erode the quality of copyright protection.

Last I heard, Pinterest was 80-90% women and that is a key demographic in certain markets, such as wedding photography.

Sep 20, 2012 at 02:33 PM
Mr Joe
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Anyone using Pinterest?

Yeah, I'm not in favor of the "anything online is fair game" aspect of Pinterest and Tumblr.

I was voicing my doubts about Pinterest working for fine art photography, and a friend told me he's sold a few pieces to interior designers through Pinterest. Interesting.

Sep 20, 2012 at 03:47 PM
tcphoto
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Anyone using Pinterest?