New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Software for viewing + deleting

CanonShooter88
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Software for viewing + deleting

I'm in the process of moving from PC to Mac. What software program do you use to view and delete the photos you don't want to keep?

I tried the standard iPhoto, which was great for viewing, but when I delete a photo, it only removes it from the library (not the computer).

As a sports photographer, I need a way to go through hundreds / thousands of photos from an event and quickly delete the ones I don't want.

Believe it or not, the Windows Photo Viewer that comes with the OS worked just fine for that

Sep 09, 2012 at 10:09 AM
howardm4
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Software for viewing + deleting

The one most often used for professionals is 'Photo Mechanic' by CameraBits. Quite expensive though but if you're going through that many images, it may be worth it to you.

Sep 09, 2012 at 10:28 AM
CanonShooter88
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Software for viewing + deleting

Thanks Howard; I'm looking for inexpensive / free. Essentially "view, then arrow key or delete key" is all I'll be doing.

Sep 09, 2012 at 12:27 PM
howardm4
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Software for viewing + deleting

oh, you can do that w/ the normal Mac Preview application. Just open the folder w/ the images, then do an Open With .... (select Preview), then there is a Contact Sheet function (not required to use), select your duds and then do a Move Selected Images to Trash

Sep 09, 2012 at 12:44 PM
CanonShooter88
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Software for viewing + deleting

Perfect; I just tried it! I set it up with thumbnails going down the left side and "Command + Delete" moves to trash. I wanted something that is all keyboard based, so that works well. Thanks a bunch!

Sep 09, 2012 at 01:22 PM
leighton w
• • • • • •