Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · How to stay motivated/encouraged as a new photog?

banky

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How to stay motivated/encouraged as a new photog?

hey guys. i'm in a rough patch with my overall life perspective and i feel like my photography is starting to feel it. i've been a long time hobbyist just recently trying to make the switch to paid jobs. my main frustrations are that i'm finding it's hard to get enough experience under my belt because im new to this city i live in (houston) and i cant find enough friends/models to shoot to build my portfolio (im mainly trying to get into portraiture).

i dont want to turn this into my life rant so i want to ask how do you vetarans and rookies stay motivated and encouraged? what picks you up when you're down?

if nothing else, thanks for reading!

Sep 07, 2012 at 12:53 PM
BenV
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How to stay motivated/encouraged as a new photog?

I'm pretty sure it happens to everyone. Its probably due to just living in a new area, once you meet new people it'll go away. This sounds more like a life personal problem than a photo related problem. Just go find new friends, dating sites, anything.

Sep 07, 2012 at 01:46 PM
bemba

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How to stay motivated/encouraged as a new photog?

what kept me motivated when i was starting up my pro career was a 5 year plan with a variety of goals i wanted to achieve...in the end it took me ten years to achieve all goals - but i did make it, one babystep at a time. And now i'm starting all over again in a different field, because i miss the challenges i used to have

if you're looking for models, have you tried just streetcasting them?