New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Skin softening with LR4?

skasol
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Skin softening with LR4?

Hi I do a lot of portraits I was wondering if there is a good plugin you would recommend for skin softening under lightroom 4 or any tips and techniques that you would recommend, I recently started switching over my processing with lightroom and still learning.

Thank you in advance.

I normally use the clarity slider.

Sep 01, 2012 at 02:34 PM
BigBadWolfie

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Skin softening with LR4?

I'm far from an expert, especially when it pertains to retouching faces, but for skin softening, the best way to do it is with brushes. The most often recommended method to soften the skin in LR is to bring up the brush, set it to soften skin, paint over the areas you want to soften, and adjust the sliders to taste. Also pay attention to sharpening and masking sliders. If you're really into touching up faces, I would recommend looking into photoshop.

As far as plugins, I myself use Nik's dynamic skin smoothener in their Color Effex program. I find it works great as a one-touch solution (with default settings dialed down), but I can generally do a better job if I spend time working with brushes. However, I'm terrible and slow with brushes so I'm not always willing to spend the time. But give those brushes a try.

Sep 01, 2012 at 09:53 PM
skasol
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Skin softening with LR4?

Thank you.

Sep 02, 2012 at 05:54 PM
therock
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Skin softening with LR4?

In a pinch experiment with the clarity brush in camera raw on the negative side.

Also onOne Software Photo Tools has one called "Modle Skin" that is nice.

Sep 02, 2012 at 08:16 PM
skasol
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Skin softening with LR4?