Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Whats the next lens?

chris23

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Whats the next lens?

Hi there,

I am new to FM. I have been wondering for a while now about my next lens purchase so figured I would ask here and see what peoples views are.

I shoot Video on a Canon 60D. I already have, the nifty fifty, 135L & 10-22mm Lenses. I have a shoulder rig follow focus and tripod. I feel like I want to either go with a fast and wide lens, bit on the other hand I have been thinking about a zoom :s i'm thinking either, Canon 35mm 1.4 L, Canon 24-70MK1 (they seem to be going cheap with the announcement of the MK2). For a cheaper option, maybe the 30mm 1.4 Sigma?

Would really love to hear your thoughts.

Many thanks in advance for your time.

Aug 15, 2012 at 07:45 PM
alskouba
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Whats the next lens?

Hi Chris,

For video i would chek for samyang/Rokinon etc... They have excelent IQ and for less than 1/3 of the price of your two contenders. Of course you would have to use primes but i personnaly dont like zooms in video. Off course if you shoot live action and you need a zoom to make shure you always frame everything than consider the 24-70MM 2.8L wich is indeed a good lens.Keep in mind that those samyang/Rokinon dont have autofocus so if you consider still shooting it might be a little more tricky to use.

The favorites of Samyang/Rokinon are the 14mm 2.8 35mm 1.4 and the 85mm 1.4 They both have proven their self as great lens with excelent IQ and built Quality.They also have a 24mm 1.4 that is supposed to be good but i never tried it.

Alexis

Aug 15, 2012 at 10:51 PM
Monito
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · Whats the next lens?

Welcome to FM, chris23.