Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Undecided between Canon 15-85mm and Tamron 17-50mm (non VC).

virgil1612

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Undecided between Canon 15-85mm and Tamron 17-50mm (non VC).

Hello,

My first post here, hello and thanks for the wonderful discussions...

I am a beginner, enjoying very much my Canon T3 with the kit zoom (coming from a P&S).
I'm torn between Canon 15-85mm and Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 (non VC).
I want to upgrade my kit zoom. My main concern is (indoor and outdoor) shots of kids and family, nothing professional, just for the fun and memories. I decided on a zoom because of the convenience, I will surely buy some primes in the future.

I'll just think out loud here, to show why I'm undecided.

- The constant 2.8 aperture of the Tamron is very appealing to me, but of course Canon has stabilization which kind of makes up for this.
- Both seem to be good wide open.
- Focal length differences at both ends are not very important for me at this point, I will anyway buy a dedicated telezoom.
- Don't care very much about the bokeh, I'm just an amateur.
- Both have very good reviews.
- Found excellent sample pictures with both.
- Comparing them on the-digital-picture.com, I found them tied at the center, with Canon a little bit better on corners, not a deal-breaker for the Tamron.
- Smoother, quieter and faster AF on the Canon, manual focus override on the Canon, that could be interesting.
- Tamron stops the action easier than the Canon, which, with kids, can be important.

Could you comment on colors and contrast on these lenses?

- Looking at prices on Ebay, Tamron (again, non VC) is roughly half of the Canon, which could prove decisive...