New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Portrait Technique

saywhuut
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Portrait Technique

Hello, I’ve been a hobbyist for a while now and basically I want to try to venture into weddings/portrait work to start earning some extra income. When outside taking family pictures of my kids on a nice sunny day, I’ve noticed to really get some nice pictures regarding light position, I personally am really struggling. I’m getting fine results for memories, etc but the thought in the back of my mind came up how do you experienced photogs deal with harsh light, or shade and not enough light when doing serious wedding/portrait work? I’ve been pursuing nature/landscape a bit and am so used to wanting the sun behind my back, but I notice that is not always the best for portrait work due to the people having to squint, etc.

SO my long-winded question is, how do you all get such awesome pictures when trying to find shade for people to be comfortable to take pictures in while outside, and just general suggestions for outdoor portrait/wedding work for someone who is thinking about giving it a go? Also, what about sun positioning for outdoor portrait work? How do you combat the sun behind your back, but not having the subjects squinting, etc?

Aug 02, 2012 at 07:17 AM
bbourizk
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Portrait Technique

Practice practice and practice some more
See what works for you and what doesn't
Use the sun to backlight your subject
Use off camera flash to light your subject
Don't shoot in harsh light
Shoot later in the day or early
find a tree to shoot under a bridge somewhere there's shade

Aug 02, 2012 at 07:43 AM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Portrait Technique