Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · New to PP, how to get a natural look with "pop"?

tschnitker

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · New to PP, how to get a natural look with "pop"?

Hey everyone.

I'm fairly new to PP, I have years of -basic- experience with photoshop (levels/curves/unsharp. I have no real idea what mask layers and such do) and more recently lightroom. I've been into photography for about 15 years now, and I really prefer the more natural look to photos than the heavily processed ones with unreal clouds and tones (example, heavy HDR).

What can I do to my photos to give them a little more life?

My flickr page
http://www.flickr.com/photos/67776615@N02/

Any tips or suggestions would be much appreciated. Thank you!

P.S. If someone wants to do a quick edit on one of the photos, it's OK by me.

Jul 26, 2012 at 08:00 AM
Bernie
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · New to PP, how to get a natural look with "pop"?

You have some good solid images with interesting points of view. Generally, working with colors, shading, and sharpening as well as depth of field could help.

You might want to post a shot on the "Photo Critique" Forum here on FM to get specific feedback on an image by image basis.

As an alternate view to your "Curving Bricks" (which I like), you might want to compare it to this shot. Neither is right or wrong, just a different interpretation.

Jul 26, 2012 at 09:07 AM
Snap96

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · New to PP, how to get a natural look with "pop"?

Some great images. Those Minnesota shots bring me back to when I was kid and vacationed every summer in Marcell, MN.