New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Off camera remote test fire and Yongnuo RF-603

Tortay

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Off camera remote test fire and Yongnuo RF-603

I am new to off camera flash, and just purchased a set of Yongnuo RF-603 transceivers that seem to work quite well for everything they are supposed to do, except what I actually wanted them for. When I ordered them, I assumed that there would be a way to remotely fire or test fire the flash without using the camera. Now that I have the two transceivers, it appears that this is not possible. Hopefully, someone can explain that I’m wrong and there is a way to do this. If it can’t be done, I would appreciate a suggestion on how to remotely trigger a flash that’s behind a wall without using a camera.

Jul 14, 2012 at 05:21 PM
cwebster
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Off camera remote test fire and Yongnuo RF-603

Pressing the "test" button on the transmitter should fire the strobe if both transmitter and receiver are on the same channel.

<Chas>

Jul 14, 2012 at 06:21 PM
Tortay

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Off camera remote test fire and Yongnuo RF-603

Thanks. The test button works if the unit is attached to a camera, but if it's not attached to a camera it doesn't work.

Jul 14, 2012 at 07:57 PM

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Off camera remote test fire and Yongnuo RF-603

You 're correct. The camera must be attached to one of the transcievers, then the test button operates as you stated. Annoying, but for the price, they do what they're supposed to.

Jul 15, 2012 at 09:22 AM
Tortay

p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Off camera remote test fire and Yongnuo RF-603