Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Host Options: Hostgator vs SmugMug, Zenfolio?

BigBadWolfie

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Host Options: Hostgator vs SmugMug, Zenfolio?

Newbie question. I'm not a pro. I just registered two domains. I plan to use one as a personal blog and another to share and maybe in the future sell some of my photos. I've been looking at different host options. Hosting from SmugMug or Zenfolio seems like an easy option for my photosharing site but I'm not sure if it is a good option to host my blog. Hosting from Hostgator and installing something like Wordpress seems like an easy thing to do for my personal blog site but not so much a good site for my photo sharing site. The other option is to separate the hosting but at this point that seems like a waste of money for me as I'm not making money off my photos. I suppose I can also just have wordpress host my blog and go with SmugMug or Zenfolio for my photosharing site?

Any suggestions for a newbie?

May 23, 2012 at 08:04 AM
skasol
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Host Options: Hostgator vs SmugMug, Zenfolio?

Interesting I am looking for similar info

May 30, 2012 at 05:22 PM
killersnowman
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Host Options: Hostgator vs SmugMug, Zenfolio?

i personally use zenfolio to host all my photos for sharing on various forums. there is a built in blog feature of zenfolio that i havent used yet, though i might with an upcoming project im working on.

http://www.fistfulofneurons.com/blog

squarespace is another option. great blog hosting and software. you can host your image elsewhere and then embed them into a squarespace site.

May 30, 2012 at 07:12 PM
skasol
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Host Options: Hostgator vs SmugMug, Zenfolio?

killersnowman wrote: