New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · I've done my research, but still have some questions

BenWitt
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · I've done my research, but still have some questions

First off, I am a college student right now and have done the majority of my shooting with available light and mainly sporting events. That being said, I want to start to improve with portraits and work with some lighting. One reason for looking into lighting now is because I will be in a new apartment next year with only one person and plenty of space for some basic studio shots to get experience (I can also always reserve a room on campus somewhere if I desire a larger space). Also I have been contracted to do 2 weddings this summer and one in the fall (the fall one is pending currently since I was just contacted last week) and where I have done 2 before (low budget family friends so it was a nice intro to the type of environment) I really want to smash these out of the park (if that reference works).
For reference I shoot with a Nikon D3 and D700 with lenses having constant apertures of 1.8 or 2.8 (easier than listing them all specifically)

Now, I have had a thought about which type of lighting to get (Strobes or hot shoe flashes, which I will call flashes for convenience) and am well aware of the advantages/disadvantages of each as far as power, recycle time, portability, etc. I was looking into some AlienBees (B800s specifically) and am looking for just a two light setup first. It looks like I could get a kit of B800s for about $750-800 if I remember correctly. Now if I don't have to spend $1000 I would rather not but I also don't want to be disappointed with my choice. So, as far as this section goes, would I notice much of a difference if I got the B400s keeping in mind my bodies and lenses?