New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · LR4 Win running slowly

PhilDrinkwater
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · LR4 Win running slowly

Soo... I'm processing my first wedding with LR4 and on the same PC and under the same conditions it's running WAY slower in develop mode than LR3.

It seems to be hitting the disk with literally every little thing that I want to change, which causes a delay in operation - 2-3 seconds. For example, while I'm trying to change white balance, every little change to the white balance slider causes a disk operation meaning it's really hard to find the right value.

Anyone else experienced this? Anyone found a "fix"? Or have they just released a product which was (seemingly due to all of the bugs) just not ready yet? Or have I somehow done something stupid (but I've been using LR for 3 years...)

(Nothing else is happening on my computer, which is a pretty powerful beast with loads of RAM).

Mar 13, 2012 at 06:22 AM
gabimaster
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · LR4 Win running slowly

The same hapend when LR 3 was released. But starting with LR 3.2, they adressed the issue.

Mar 13, 2012 at 07:06 AM
PhilDrinkwater
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · LR4 Win running slowly

I hope they do.

For anyone else experiencing this, I've got a temporary workaround - set caching to go to a USB disk. Even my particularly fast c drive isn't fast enough it would seem

Mar 13, 2012 at 07:09 AM
gabimaster
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · LR4 Win running slowly

By the way, there are a big difference between 2010 and 2012 process regarding final IQ of a RAW file ?Have you made a side-by-side comparison using the same RAW file ?

Mar 13, 2012 at 07:14 AM
gabimaster
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · LR4 Win running slowly

I'm planning to download a 30 days trial of LR 4 but until than......

Mar 13, 2012 at 07:15 AM
PhilDrinkwater
• • • •