New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Mobile Lighting Help for Newbie

Gary Ellis
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Mobile Lighting Help for Newbie

CHALLENGE FOR YOU EXPERIENCED LIGHT PEOPLE:

I am a long-time camera user (Canon 1D series, 7D), but a total newbie at lighting, so I need some help. I've been reading book after book on flash lighting and have a couple of speedlights and umbrellas, but what I really want to find is a decent kit that I can take to people's houses, to the beach, or to local parks where I can take photos of my friends.

Other than something sturdy so it stands up in the wind, I have no idea what I need.

1. If I stick with speedlights, what equipment do I need? (Battery packs, modifiers, etc.)

2. If I go with traditional lighting, what equipment do I need, and should it be continuous or strobe? I want to be able to carry the kit myself and set it up quickly. I will not have an assistant, so I will need whatever stands and clamps are required.

Oh, yeah. it shouldn't break the bank!

Thanks very much for your help!

Gary

Mar 03, 2012 at 10:37 PM
Gary Ellis
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Mobile Lighting Help for Newbie

Brian, thanks very much. Looks to me that you have an Apollo softbox and some kind of beauty dish (with a grid?)--am I right? And what kind of stands to you have? Is one of them a C-stand? If you don't mind giving me the brand/model, I'd like to look them up.

I was reading Syl Arena's "Speedliter's Handbook" last night and was starting to believe in speedlghts again and not so much studio lights--at least for me right now--and your post is nudging me further in that direction.

Thanks very much.

Gary

Mar 04, 2012 at 05:52 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Mobile Lighting Help for Newbie

Gary Ellis wrote: