New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Film Comparison Website?

banpreso
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Film Comparison Website?

I'm relatively new to the film world. I'm wondering is there a website that shows samples of different films shooting at the same subject? I just want to get an idea on the color profile, contrast characteristic, and grain of most popular print films. I know most of this information was published before internet got popular... and now it's so hard to find!

Feb 25, 2012 at 02:21 AM
Zaitz
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Film Comparison Website?

These are some of the best I've seen:

http://www.onlandscape.co.uk/2011/06/colour-film-comparison-pt-3/

http://www.onlandscape.co.uk/2011/02/colour-film-comparison-pt-two/

http://www.onlandscape.co.uk/2010/12/a-colour-film-comparison/

http://www.timparkin.co.uk/blog/velvia_astia_provia_pro160_digital

Ektar vs Velvia 100f
http://www.onlandscape.co.uk/2011/06/ektar-100-and-velvia-100f-%e2%80%93-a-mini-comparison/

Velvia 50 vs Ektar:
http://benhorne.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/fuji-velvia-50-vs-kodak-ektar-100-round-one/

Velvia 50 vs 100:
http://www.olegnovikov.com/technical/velvia50vs100/velvia50vs100.shtml

Velvia 50 vs Ektachrome:
http://www.olegnovikov.com/technical/velvia50vskodak100vs/velvia50vskodak100vs.shtml

That should be enough for color .

For b&w I'd just search something like flickriver or flickr hivemind for particular films and get a feel for the general characteristics. That's what I did anyway....tens of thousands of photos. Ah, work's good for something.

Feb 25, 2012 at 02:49 AM
banpreso
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Film Comparison Website?

wow thank you so much!

Feb 25, 2012 at 04:20 AM
Makten
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Film Comparison Website?