New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · hiring an assistant and pay/taxes for them

JessicaLWalker

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · hiring an assistant and pay/taxes for them

Hello everyone!

I've been freelancing for a major publication for about 4 years now-pretty inconsistent and small shoots. However, they are starting to hire me more and more, and I'm getting to the point where I can quit my full time job and be a photographer full time instead, which is what I went to school for, so yay!

Anytime I have ever needed an assistant for a larger shoot they just let me use their intern, or their staff photographer assistant. I'm getting to the point where I'm going to have to find a few assistants that I can hire on my own when I need them though, because of how frequently I will be shooting.

My question is: how do you find assistants? I can contact my school and see if there are any recent graduates in need of work, but what are my other options...besides Craigslist? Also, will the assistant be billing me, or the publication? If they are invoicing me, how do I handle taxes if I'm paying them more than $600? Will I need to have them fill out a W-4 and send them a 1099 next year, and subsequent years?

Thank you for any and all help!

Feb 22, 2012 at 02:08 PM
Skarkowtsky
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · hiring an assistant and pay/taxes for them

Include your assistant's day rate in your estimate to your client, in a breakdown of expenses. Then, have your assistant invoice you for payment, cut them a check. It's up to them, as freelancers, to file their income. This is how I've always billed and have been billed, as an assistant.

Check out aphotoassistant.com and 1prophoto.com for pretty large directories.

Feb 22, 2012 at 02:14 PM
moanakula

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · hiring an assistant and pay/taxes for them