Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Advice on Getting Rid of a Lightroom Catalog?

splathrop
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Advice on Getting Rid of a Lightroom Catalog?

I am just starting out with Lightroom. I made a false start and created a catalog that I do not want to keep. I can find nothing in any menu, or in the Kelby Lightroom book, about how to delete a Lightroom catalog. Maybe it is not even an issue. Maybe you just create the new catalog you want and leave the false start catalog in place. But it feels like it could be a hazard at some point, having the old one lying around ready to open by accident and soak up work effort. I realize I can delete the unwanted catalog in the finder, but then presumably Lightroom is going to just keep wondering and asking where it went. Am I imagining a problem that does not even exist? What is the right way to proceed?

As the paragraph above probably shows, my understanding is pretty rudimentary, so feel free especially to explain why these are dumb questions, if they are.

Feb 05, 2012 at 10:44 PM
morganb4
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Advice on Getting Rid of a Lightroom Catalog?

just make a new catalogue. Its no drama.

Look for a folder called Lightroom, your cat files should end with .lrcat. You can delete it from the finder.

Alternatively you can just delete everything in it.

I know some people who have a different catalogue for every assigment they do.

Feb 05, 2012 at 10:49 PM
Alan321
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Advice on Getting Rid of a Lightroom Catalog?