Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Zoom Lens (70-200) for T2i

chadderwick

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Zoom Lens (70-200) for T2i

I have spent more hours than I would like to admit searching the net for which lens I should buy. However, it seems you can get as many answers/reasons for that answer as posts you read.

I have a T2i that I bought about a year ago with the 18-55 and 55-250 lenses. I have since replaced the 18-55 with the Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM FLD and have been VERY pleased with it. I generally like architecture photography (using my Sigma or a Canon 10-22 that I am able to borrow) along with general shots of events. I do not sell my work currently as I am still very new to it and just trying to enjoy photography...however I am not opposed to selling as side work as I get better. As this is more of a hobby, I do not plan to buy a lot of lenses so want to get the most out of the couple I have. I use a timbuk2 small snoop messenger that I can fit camera with lens attached and an extra lens comfortably. I do not carry a tri/mono pod because I am on vacation to enjoy and not spend time setting up for shots. (and this is primariily for my enjoyment)

I went to Disney with the family and found the 55-250 to be slow to focus and felt like I missed some shots.

Now I am going to Italy this summer with the Mrs and am looking to replace the 55-250 with something a bit better. I expect to take some many landscape shots and think 50 is going to be too wide for many of them and not let me focus in on buildings or whatever from a distance...and I sometimes print large format so I don't want to have to crop. Also take shots of whatever I encounter along the way.