New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Off-color

gravelhighway

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Off-color

I took a candid photo of my beloved Lab/Weim mix Rosco. However, the soft white flood lights made the black (with a slight tint of brown) fur on his face bounce an orange color. Is there a way to correct this without effecting the color of his eyes?

(I'm VERY new to photography and even newer to photo editing. I'm using PSP Photo X3 for editing).

Thanks in advance!

Jan 23, 2012 at 06:10 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Off-color

First things first ... WELCOME TO FM !!!

FM ROCKS !!!

The short answer is yes. There are a couple ways to go about it, but I'll need to dust off my PSP X3 and see if I can remember where things are /different from PS.

Jan 23, 2012 at 06:58 PM
gravelhighway

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Off-color

Wow, that's amazing... thank you! I guess that I need to break down and purchase Photoshop eventually!

Jan 24, 2012 at 11:43 AM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Off-color

gravelhighway wrote:
Wow, that's amazing... thank you! I guess that I need to break down and purchase Photoshop eventually!

I suggest you also look at Lightroom. You can download a trial copy.

To me, LR has an easier workflow. For instance, if I take a series of photos, like your pup, and correct the color balance in one, I can easily apply that color balance to the rest of the photos taken under the same lighting conditions. A lot of the functions I did in Photoshop I now do in Lightroom.

I think it's best to own both. I take a photo up from LR into PS to do more sophisticated corrections. With PS, as AuntiPode demonstrated, you can create layers. These layers can be used for all sorts of corrections.