New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · lens question

sandman22
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · lens question

hello everyone I am fairly new to FM been on here for about a month or so and have learned a great deal so far! I am fairly new to being serious about photography and had a few questions that i was hoping some more seasoned photographers could answer.

Since i am new to photography I do not have alot of the latest and greatest gear yet. I currently have a 50mm 1.8 because i was told it takes fairly sharp good pictures with good depth of field and was something i could afford right off the bat. I also have a 28-135 mm is usm and then just two older lens that i had from a rebel xti. 18-55 mm and 70-200 mm. I am thinking about getting the 70-200 can f4/L because i would like to do some sports shooting and maybe birds and other animals at longer distances. as long as the lighting is adequate will this lens serve me well especially since i am just getting going? is the is really worth double the price? or would it be good to get the f4/l no is and then save up for 2.8 is? Any other lenses that are failry reasonable 400-700$ range that i should look into? any focal range for those. Thanks for taking the time to read this far.

Ben

Jan 18, 2012 at 12:11 PM
AGeoJO
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · lens question

Whether a lens is worth X-time over another is highly subjective. The difference in price is really very difficult, practically impossible to be translated directly into performance difference. What some folks consider difficult to justify, to others it may be a no-brainer.