Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · New Macro Lens

etg9

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · New Macro Lens

This is my first image posted on FM. I got a new macro (100 f2.8 IS) and I'm trying to figure it out. These are all straight out of the camera, no anything. Winter in NYC doesn't provide the best macro subjects.

Spiky ball:

Dried winter rose:

Let me know where I'm going wrong as I'm fairly new to all of this...

Jan 13, 2012 at 08:53 PM
AuntiPode
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · New Macro Lens

Technically they are ok, but you might consider using a smaller aperture to increase the depth of field. In terms of post-processing, careful sharpening and sometimes boosting the mid-tone contrast can help add snag, especially when the lighting is low in contrast as it is here.

In terms of conventional art, flat lighting can make an image a bit dull. Centering the subject is often not the best position, in terms of image composition.

Here are a couple of illustrations of what you can do better in camera, but can mimic in PP.

Sweet Gum pod?

Jan 13, 2012 at 11:04 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · New Macro Lens

Per all reviews and examples I've seen that is a stellar macro lens and also quite nice for other applications such as portraits.

In terms of C&C, when shooting be mindful of distractions in the background around the object. For example in the first shot the green leaf on the ground is a distraction that could have been removed by hand easily. Both shots you posted would benefit from cropping, sharpening, and toning down the background a bit to make the foreground contrast more. Here's the first with about 5 min. of editing.